Five hospitals honored for quality leadership, innovation

AHA News

VCU Medical Center in Richmond, VA, received the 2014 AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize July 20 at the Health Forum-AHA Leadership Summit in San Diego. The $75,000 annual prize honors leadership and innovation in quality improvement and safety. The Quest for Quality award began in 2001 as an award recognizing a culture of patient safety. It has evolved into a prize for achievement in all of the Institute of Medicine’s six quality aims – safety, patient-centeredness, effectiveness, efficiency, timeliness and equity. The prize is supported by a grant from McKesson Corp. in San Francisco.

Carolinas Medical Center-NorthEast in Concord, NC, part of Carolinas HealthCare System, received a $12,500 finalist prize. In addition, MUSC Medical Center in Charleston, SC; the Richard
L. Roudebush VA Medical Center in Indianapolis; and University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics in Madison, Wis., received Citations of Merit.

“These remarkable hospitals started an important journey with their staff, patients and communities to create a culture that prizes safe and effective care,” said AHA President and CEO Rich Umbdenstock. “By involving their whole organization, these hospitals have become national leaders in providing the highest quality of care.”

The AHA seeks nominations for the 2015 Quest for Quality Prize. Completed applications for the 2015 award must be e-mailed by midnight, central time, Sunday, Oct. 12, to
questforquality@aha. org. For more on the award, visit

Topic: Advocacy and Public Policy

Keyword Search