Quality leaders honored at Summit

AHA News

Hospitals and state associations that demonstrate a remarkable level of leadership and innovation in moving to the future are being honored at this week’s 21st Annual Health Forum/AHA Leadership Summit in San Diego. They include the winners of the AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize, Circle of Life and Dick Davidson Quality Milestone awards. Circle of Life Awards. Three programs that expand the reach of palliative and end-of-life are being recognized today, July 26, at the Summit. This year’s award winners are The Denver Hospice and Denver-based Optio Health Services; The Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York; and UnityPoint Health Palliative Care Program in West Des Moines, IA.

Receiving Citations of Honor
are: Gundersen Health System in La Crosse, WI; Hospice of Dayton (OH); North Shore University Hospital Palliative Care Program in Manhasset, NY; and Veterans Health Administration, Department of Veterans Affairs in Washington, D.C. AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize. Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston is this year’s winner of the AHA-McKesson Quest for Quality Prize.

The hospital received the award yesterday, July 25, for its culture of quality and efforts to achieve the Institute of Medicine’s (IOM) six aims of safer, more patient-centered, effective, efficient, timely and equitable care. The award cited the hospital’s strong leadership and comitment to involving patients and their families in decisionmaking
about their care.

Franklin Woods Community Hospital in Johnson City, TN, was honored as a finalist. St. Mary’s Hospital in Centralia, IL, and Vidant Medical Center in Greenville, NC, received the Citation of Merit. The award honors hospitals that are making progress in quality improvement and offer models that can be replicated by other hospitals.
Dick Davidson Quality Milestone Awards. The Florida Hospital Association and the Tennessee Hospital Association yesterday, July 25, received the Dick Davidson Quality Milestone Award for Allied Association Leadership for their work to improve health care quality.

The award is presented to state, regional or metropolitan hospital associations that show leadership and innovation in
improving the quality of care and advancing national health care improvement efforts. The award is named for AHA President Emeritus Dick Davidson, who led the organization from 1991 to 2006. Davidson strongly promoted the role of hospital associations in leading quality improvement during his tenure at the AHA and as president of the Maryland Hospital Association from 1969 to 1991.

The Florida association teamed up with the American College of Surgeons to create the Florida Surgical Care Initiative. Over a 15-month period, participating hospitals reduced surgical complications by 14.5%, at an estimated cost savings of more than $6.6 million. Surgical site infection dropped nearly 16%, pulmonary embolism decreased nearly 38% and the risk of pneumonia declined 56%.

The Tennessee association was cited for its efforts to reduce health care-associated infections, decrease early elective deliveries before 39 weeks and improve surgical outcomes.

For more on the awards, click on: http://

Topic: Advocacy and Public Policy

Keyword Search